Department of Geological Sciences Faculty and Staff


Nancy McMillan, Department Head

Professor, Igneous petrology and geochemistry
575-646-5000, Gardiner 155

Jeff Amato

Professor, Structural geology, tectonics, and geochronology
Director, Southern Rift Institute
575-646-3017, Gardiner 160

Reed Burgette

Assistant Professor, Neotectonics
575-646-3782, Gardiner 156

Brian Hampton

Associate Professor, Sedimentology and stratigraphy
575-646-2997, Gardiner 158

  Emily Johnson

Assistant Professor, Volcanology, Igneous petrology, geochemistry
575-646-3795, Gardiner 157

Frank Ramos

Professor, Geochemistry, Volcanology
575-646-2511, Gardiner 159

Affiliated Faculty

Luis Cifuentes

VP Research
(575) 646-2481

Glen Brown

Courses taught: Petroleum Subsurface Methods

Keith Davis

Courses taught: Petroleum Geology

Cadi Keegan

Courses taught: Petroleum Systems Evaluation


Lee Hubbard
Administrative Department Secretary

Tiffany Santos
Zuhl Collection Director

Emeritus Faculty

Tom Giordano
Tim Lawton
Greg Mack
Bill Seager