Department of Geological Sciences Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Nancy McMillan, Department Head

Professor, Igneous petrology and geochemistry
575-646-5000, Gardiner 155
nmcmilla@nmsu.edu

Jeff Amato

Professor, Structural geology, tectonics, and geochronology
Director, Southern Rift Institute
575-646-3017, Gardiner 160
amato@nmsu.edu

Reed Burgette

Associate Professor, Neotectonics
575-646-3782, Gardiner 156
burgette@nmsu.edu

(on sabbatical, 2020-2021 academic year)

Brian Hampton

Associate Professor, Sedimentology and stratigraphy
575-646-2997, Gardiner 158
bhampton@nmsu.edu

  Emily Johnson

Assistant Professor, Volcanology, igneous petrology, geochemistry
575-646-3795, Gardiner 157
erj@nmsu.edu

(on leave, 2020-2021 academic year)

Frank Ramos

Professor, Geochemistry, volcanology
575-646-2511, Gardiner 159
framos@nmsu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Luis Cifuentes

VP Research
(575) 646-2481
lacifuen@nmsu.edu

Glen Brown

Courses taught: Petroleum Subsurface Methods

Keith Davis

Courses taught: Petroleum Geology

Cadi Keegan

Courses taught: Petroleum Systems Evaluation

Staff

Karen Hancock

Administrative Department Secretary
575-646-2708
hkaren@nmsu.edu

Tiffany Santos
Zuhl Collection Director
575-646-4714
zuhl@nmsu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Tom Giordano
Tim Lawton
Greg Mack
Bill Seager